Discover 2,000 years of Alderney's history at the Nunnery Heritage Site!
Visit the best preserved Roman small fort in Britain. It is the first evidence of military construction on our island and was originally built in the 4th century to defend the anchorage in Longis Bay harbour and the nearby Roman settlement.
The site epitomises the way fortifications have been adapted and reused over the years. Tudors, British soldiers and even German soldiers have made this fort their base.
The site is newly opened after a major make over. There are story boards, an information room, large WWII bunker and much, much more to explore on this amazing heritage site.
Open daily from 10am to 4.30pm.
You may also like
This MP3 five-story naval range finding tower, known as 'The Odeon' is a fine example of the concrete bunkers built by the German forces during WWII. Open daily 10-4Find out more »
The Watermill in the Bonne Terre Valley is one of the oldest surviving sites on Alderney. With information boards about the ongoing work, the Watermill is well worth a visit.Find out more »
Completed in 1854, Doyle’s Battery is the smallest Victorian fort on the island. Open daily from 10-4. Free.Find out more »
Hammond War Memorial
This memorial was built by local residents on their return to the island after WWII to commemorate the many labourers who lost their lives on Alderney.Find out more »