From an award winning museum to the Channel Islands only working railway, a Roman fort, incredible lighthouse and imposing WWII observation tower Alderney has a wealth of attractions all waiting to be discovered.
Cambridge Battery and Battery n.3 are both part of Fort Tourgis. They are an excellent example of how Alderney's original Victorian fortifications were utilised during WWII.
The Nunnery Heritage Site
Located near Longis Bay, 'The Nunnery' is the best preserved Roman small fort in Britain and is the first evidence of military construction on the island.
Alderney has the only working railway in the Channel Islands. Built in the 1840's, the railway now provides entertainment for train enthusiasts and families.
The Watermill in the Bonne Terre Valley is one of the oldest surviving sites on Alderney. With information boards about the ongoing work, the Watermill is well worth a visit.
The award winning museum provides history of the island from the pre-historic period to the present day and hosts lectures by many knowledgeable speakers.
This MP3 five-story naval range finding tower, known as 'The Odeon' is a fine example of the concrete bunkers built by the German forces during WWII.
The Bell Tower
St Anne's Church is home of the only peal of twelve bells in the Channel Islands which are rung by a dedicated team of nearly two dozen volunteers.
Alderney Bayeaux Tapestry
A few years ago, a couple of Alderney residents had the idea of 'completing' the Bayeux Tapestry with a three meter long panel. The result can be seen at the Library.
St Anne's Church
The church of St Anne, consecrated in 1850 and built to the design of Scott, is acknowledged to be one of the finest Victorian buildings in the Channel Islands.
Iron Age Site
Radio-carbon dated to 490 BC, this site consists of a dry stone wall measuring 9 meters in diameter that enclosed a circular hearth and fire pit.
This is the site of some of the best-preserved German defenses in the Channel Islands and offers a remarkable insight into the fortification of the island.
Roc à L'Epine
Located near Fort Tourgis lies Roc à L’Epine, a well-preserved ancient burial chamber dating from 4,000 BC making it Alderney's oldest site to visit.
It is always a great place to stop off along your walk around the headland. There are many information boards covering Alderney's history and natural history.
Visitors to the island are very welcome to use the Library which has all the literature you would expect including a Channel Islands section.
Following a volunteering effort, this bunker has been cleared and opened to the public. Visitors are able to experience the inside of the bunker and learn about the structure.
Visitors to the island are charmed by the ‘step back in time’ feel of watching a film in Alderney's small cinema whilst on holiday on the island.
Hammond War Memorial
This memorial was built by local residents on their return to the island after WWII to commemorate the many labourers who lost their lives on Alderney.
View the Gannets
A walk to Giffoine offers a fantastic view of Les Etacs, home to 6,000 pairs of gannets. Have a look to the telescope and get a close look at these majestic birds.
The War Years Films
A 3 part documentary series which captures the stories of the people through the evacuation, occupation and homecoming to Alderney in their own words:
Kayak & Paddle Board Hire
Why not hire a kayak or paddle board to explore Braye Bay?