Following recent extensive clearance and conservation work the Cambrige Battery and the Battery n.3 (part of the northern defences of Fort Tourgis) are now open to the public.
Information boards illustrate why these batteries are an excellent example of how Alderney's original Victorian fortifications were utilised by the Germans in WWII.
Wander through the old tunnels and immerse yourself in the history that the batteries beholds.
Always open to the public, a torch is advisable.
You may also like
This is the site of some of the best-preserved German defenses in the Channel Islands and offers a remarkable insight into the fortification of the island.Find out more »
This MP3 five-story naval range finding tower, known as 'The Odeon' is a fine example of the concrete bunkers built by the German forces during WWII. Open daily 10-4Find out more »
Located near Longis Bay, the Roman fort is the best preserved small Roman fort in Western Europe and is the first evidence of military construction on the island. Open daily 10-4.30Find out more »
View the Gannets
A walk to Giffoine offers a fantastic view of Les Etacs, home to 6,000 pairs of gannets. Have a look to the telescope and get a close look at these majestic birds.Find out more »
The Watermill in the Bonne Terre Valley is one of the oldest surviving sites on Alderney. With information boards about the ongoing work, the Watermill is well worth a visit.Find out more »
Completed in 1854, Doyle’s Battery is the smallest Victorian fort on the island. Open daily from 10-4. Free.Find out more »